In May, 1993 a group of homeowners in the Josephine area assembled at the Josephine Baptist Church Fellowship hall to discuss forming a homeowner's association. As a result of that meeting, an organization committee was formed consisting of Vernon Gipson, Don Koontz, Jr., Bob Jones, Jim Campbell, and Leonard Burrell. At that meeting, $475.00 from the Josephine Community Watch treasury was transferred to the newly formed homeowner's association. Additional planning meeting were held culminating in the formation of Josephine Homeowner's Association, Inc. as an Alabama non-profit corporation in September of 1993.

It was decided that there should be a nine person board of directors, including a President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary. The geographical basis for membership included property owners living within the jurisdiction of the Josephine Volunteer Fire Department or the area bounded on the north by Leiterman Pond, south along Baldwin CR 95 to its terminus, west along Baldwin CR 20 to Crawford Road, west on Baldwin CR 42 to include Fish Trap, east on 42 to Camp Dixie, and along Shore Drive and Spring Branch Roads to their terminus. Today, while most of JHA territory in unincorporated Baldwin County, parts have been annexed by either Elberta or Orange Beach.

The purpose of JHA, as set forth in the articles of incorporation, is to promote community spirit and act as a cohesive forum for the welfare and safety of this community.

We communicate with our membership by means of a mailed newsletter (sent out to 350 addresses), an e-mailed newsletter (which reaches approx. 175 people), and meetings, including our Spring Fling Potluck held in May. We also periodically send out surveys regarding various issues of importance to our membership. This website is our newest means of allowing members to communicate with each other regarding issues deemed important to this community.

Our operating funds come from donations and $25.00/year/family dues. The dues notice is sent out by mail after June each year to assure that funds are credited to the current fiscal year which begins July 1st each year. We dispense funds to a variety of different community projects and efforts.

If anyone is interested in attending a board meeting please contact a board member for time and location of next meeting.


Board Members 2017-2018:


Richard Schlinkert  

John Shaw  

Karen Owens  

Janet Davies  

Mike Hawkins

Shelby McRae

Kim Morgan

Betty Dixon-Leigh

Andy Schaff


Contact | Home
hosted by: gulfnetwork
1993-2019 © Copyright Josephine Homeowners Association. All rights reserved.